Thursday, September 13, 2012

The highest peak of the world.

The Himalaya is the region which is characterized by the massive mountain ranges of the Himalaya, the Karakoram, the Hindu Kush and a host of minor ranges extending from the Pamir Knot. The region is home to the nations of Nepal, Bhutan, the Indian states of Arunachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Sikkim, Himachal Pradesh and the regions of Tibet, Jammu, Kashmir, and Ladakh. 

The name is from Sanskrit himālaya, atatpurusa compound meaning "the abode of snow" (from hima "snow", and alaya "abode"; ). Together, the Himalaya mountain system is the planets highest and home to all fourteen of the world's highest peaks: the Eight-thou sanders, including Mount Everest. The mountain ranges are the source of three of the world's major river systems, the Indus Basin, the Ganga-Brahmaputra Basin and the Yangtze Basin. The people of the Himalayan region are largely of Indo-Tibetan descent and distinctive religions include Hinduism and Tibetan Buddhism.


Mount Everest is the highest mountain on the earth. It’s the Spirit which lives and breathes all along the Nepal. Sagarmatha (which means Goddess of the sky) is the Nepali name of Mount Everest.

A brief fact sheet of Mount Everest.
Definition of Mount Everest a mountain in the central Himalayas on the border of Tibet and Nepal; the highest mountain peak in the world.
Nepali Name Sagarmatha (which means Goddess of the sky)
Tibetan Name Chomolungma (which means mother Goddess of the Universe)
Height 8848 meters or 29,029 ft
Location On the border between Nepal and Tibet, where all of the worlds 14 Eight thousand meter peaks are found.
Longitude 86º55'40' E
Latitude latitude 270 45' N and 280 0' N and longitude 800 30' E and 870 0' E in the Solukhumbhu District of Sagarmatha Zone of the kingdom of Nepal
Local People Sherpas and Tibetan


  1. Interesting post giving a lot of facts about Everest and the Himalaya region that many people may not be aware of.